Looking Ahead-Comic Orders for September 2013

I put in my order to Mail Order Comics based on the September solicitations. A glitch in their system screwed up by cart so I had to redo it, missed a couple books which I’ll have to just order before it drops. Anyway here is basically what I’m getting.

All New X-Men #16, X-Men: Battle of the Atom #1, X-Men #5, Uncanny X-Men #12, Wolverine & the X-Men #36-This is another result of me having most the crossover books on my pull. Plus I’m loving All New and Uncanny despite my general dislike of writer Brian Bendis. I’m curious what’s going to happen in this crossover. I doubt it’ll get me to add Wolverine & the X-Men full on because I’m actually looking for cuts for new Image and Vertigo titles.

Batman ’66 #3-Still waiting to read the first collected issue.

East of West #6-Excellent looking book but I have not embraced the writing side of the title. Still, I’ll give it a little while longer.

Empowered Special #5: Nine Beers with Ninjette-Empowered has been my favorite comic work with each OGN. These one shot fillers are neat but alck the punch of the full works. Still, this one included work by Runaways artist Takashi Miyazawa so I’m looking forward tot hat. Plus creator Adam Warren said this Ninjette focus story was based on material cut from the amazing volume 7. Volume 8 has just been solicited for the October order form.

Fables #133, Fairest #19-Sticking with the franchise.

Fatale #18-Favorite book from Image right now.

Five Weapons: Making the Grade TP-I enjoyed Jimmie Robinsons foul mouthed, bad taste Bomb Queen. His humor and fun style just exploded on the page. I’ve heard good things about this YA oriented series. The pages I’ve seen online have looked nice. So yeah… my only trade for this order.

Green Arrow #23.1: Count Vertigo-The Forever Evil and Villians month really does not interest me so I’m only checking out a few things. This one mostly because I believe its the usual creative team.

Justice League #23.1: Darkseid-The only of the JL villian books and just to see Paulo Siqueria art. I have not read a comic drawn by him in a long while.

Justice League of America #7.2: Killer Frost, 7.3: Shadow Thief, #7.4: Black Adam-I like Killer Frost and I’m curious about the new Shadow Thief. Black Adam for the fact I have been following the Shazam back ups.

Lady Rawhide #2, Red Sonja #3, and Vampirella: Southern Gothic #2-All Dynamite books I have not yet read. Red Sonja should be dropping next week but I won’t see it until the start of August.

Lazarus #4, Morning Glories #31-32, Saga #14-More Image goodies though I’m beginning to come down on Morning Glories. Its giving me a headache. Lazarus had a good debut issue and Saga has been excellent.

Mighty Avengers #1-Supporting diversity but getting an artist you dislike along with the deal.

Previews-Need to get back to buying these to check out all the small press stuff and merch.

Rachel Rising #20-This and Sonja I missed on my glitchy order form. Enjoy this series a lot. Will pick up both through Midtown comics.

Satellite Sam #3, Sex Criminals #1-I think both are Matt Fraction books. My copy of Satellite Sam arrives Wednesday in my next order box.

Wonder Woman #23.1: Cheetah, #23.2: First Born-Because I support WW’s title. Even though its been a bit uninteresting for me lately.

So that’s that. I have to remember to pick up two books on Midtowns site. October solicits will have more Image, a new Vertigo title, and maybe more.

About CM Towns

I like comics, wrestling, and other junk.
This entry was posted in comic books, dc comics, female superheroes, independent comics, marvel comics, superhero, wonder woman, x-men and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

