My Top 5 Favorite Batman Artist

List of fave artists who have tackled Batman and the Batman universe.

5. Neal Adams

I have to be honest, I don’t actually remember the stories themselves but DAMN! Adams art on those issues. I remember they were fun but for the most part I just remember his Batman. The stature of the character. Not just Batman but Bruce Wayne himself The fluidity of the storytelling. There is a grandness to Adams Batman that has not only stood the test of time but has become a model for generations after. So many comic artist do their take on the Adams style Batman. He also still has one of the coolest Ra’s Al Ghul and one of the sexiest Talia.

4. David Mazzucchelli

Year One was one of the first Batman comics I read. It was around the age of 9 and by the time I was already a fan thanks to the Adam West show and the Tim Burton movies but in comics just some random issues here and there. Frank Miller penned the story and David Mazzucchelli crafted the look. While his Batman lacked the bodybuilder physique which is popular of him David presented a realistic, athletic, determined Dark Knight in a story that had such incredible atmosphere.

3. Brian Bolland

An artist who succeeded at both the grand imposing stature of Batman and the atmosphere of his stories is Brian Bolland. Between his various covers and the classic Killing Joke, Bollands Batman has become one of the most beloved. As well as Bollands Joker, which may actually be even more iconic that his Batman. Bollands interpretation does not vary from a lot of the classic versions of the joker, he just seemingly perfected it.

2. Bruce Timm

The animated Batman series is my favorite adaptation of Batman. Probably just my favorite version overall. Those first few dozen episodes are amazing. Purely beautiful. Bruce Timm was more than a showrunner or director, he crafted the main visual. His version of Batman and his cast of characters and rogues are incredibly important to me. The stuff him and his collaborators did transcended the TV and elevated the books with the additions of Renee Montoya and Harley Quinn. In fact Timms Haley Quinn is the definitive version, she just looks perfect when he draws her. Practically most the cast looks perfect when he draws them. When I think of the best way to do Batman stories I usually think about that show.

1. Marshall Rogers

Strange Apparitions was the name of the trade written (mostly) by Steve Englehart and penciled by Marshall Rogers. featuring a pair of stories and a crime boss that would be adapted and used in the Batman Animated series. This is my favorite run on Batman. Its fast paced, action packed, and glorious. Rogers work on batman just speaks to me. I love it. I love his Batman and Wayne but also characters like Silver St. Cloud, Deadshot (who Rogers redesigned in the teams reboot), Penguin, and of course his Joker. The late Rogers was one amazing artist and I was happy that a few years ago DC put out a hardcover collecting most of his Batman work. It was a thrill to relive those stories again.

About CM Towns

I like comics, wrestling, and other junk.
This entry was posted in batman, comic books, dc comics and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My Top 5 Favorite Batman Artist

  1. Gregg says:

    So glad you noted the Marshall Rogers run, his art with Englehart’s writing to me was the perfect Batman. So sad it was so short but to this day I continue to go back and re-read/glory in that all too short of a run.

Leave a Reply

