31 Days of Horror and Supernatural Films: Scanners

Day 8

Third Cronenberg film, the classic scifi horror flick Scanners. About people with telepath/telekinetics called Scanners. A company known as ConSec sends one out to assassinate another Scanner named Revok played by Michael Ironside who has plans to tear down ConSac and more by creating a Scanner army. In his search for Revok the assassin discovers the truth about the drug ephemerol and also Revoks own ties to the drug and ConSec.

Scanners is more of a thriller than a horror film to me. It was… Alright. I don’t know why it didn’t illicit a strong reaction. its a famous film so maybe I expected more. In spite of its cool effects, unique story, and strong performances i was kind or bored through out. Cronenberg likes the build, which I’m usually down with, but I feel disconnected to this film. Thinking about all the Cronenberg films I’ve seen I’d say I’m 3 for 3. I really don’t have much to say this time around. I thought it was okay but did not like it enough or dislike it enough to talk at lengths. Tomorrow I switch tactics and go with a classic exploitation horror film from one of my fave directors-the late Wes Craven.

About CM Towns

I like comics, wrestling, and other junk.
This entry was posted in film, horror, movies, scifi and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

