What I’ve Been Doing: Reading, Listening, Watching -2.17.2017

Reading
Recently finished the recent Batgirl volume. The Cassandra Cain Batgirl. It was fine but lacked the punch of the first two volumes. Also finished Tomie by Juni Ito, the horror manga icon. This is the second book I’ve read from him, the other Uzumaki. This man’s stuff is twisted. Uzumaki was about a cursed town and spirals. Tomie is about a girl was viciously murdered and comes back. Again and again. It is creepy, depressing, and definitely dark with lots of body horror. If you like horror you should check it out.

As for comic books, still buying too much. The fave DC comics remain with Deathstroke edging out Wonder Woman and Green Arrow as my favorites of what I’m buying. Made the decision to cut Suicide Squad but I still got at least 3 issues coming my way. I’m on the fence on both Shade the Changing Girl and Cave Carson has A Cybernetic Eye from DC’s Young Animals line up but the intrigue in the story keeps me buying.

Outside DC Motor Crush from Image by Cameron Stewart, Brenden Fletcher and Babs Tarr and Motor Girl from Abstract are worth a look. Motor Crush is a scifi(lite) racer series. Beautiful looking book. Motor Girl about a military vet with PTSD that talks to an imaginary gorilla and works at a junkyard that military contractors want. By Terry Moore, one of the great indy creators.

I also need to say this, with Jem and the Holograms and Misfits wrapping and going on hiatus, the Misfits work without the Holograms but the Holograms do not work without the Misfits. They don’t. Jerrica/Jem is just not that interesting. No matter what they try with her, like her staying in her Jem state and losing herself in it. Its not interesting. I don’t really care much for Aja and Shana and I hate saying that because they seem cool they just don’t pop. Kimber is the most fun to read and Raya is fine, but the Holograms just don’t fly without antagonists. The Misfits are just deeper as a group. Pizzazz and Stormer are the most complex of any of the characters. Jetta and Roxy don’t have as much but their banter elevates them. Blaze is a great addition. Misfits rule, Holograms suck.

Also I have a pile of books to read. Probably start on some neglected trades. Started a Lois Duncan novel month ago but stopped cause… I don’t know. Will get back to it. Been bad about it. I also need to reorganize all my comics again.

Listening
Nothing new has dropped yet.With the exception of a new single from VHS Glitch entitled Passion On Tape. Other than that, basically been listening to whatever. New Marilyn Manson and My Life with the Thrill Kill Kult this year so I’m happy about that. Thats my two favorites. New Die So Fluid this year too.

As for older acts I’ll probably check out a Clutch album I don’t have. I don’t know. Maybe I’ll look for some suggestions.

Watching
Lots of stuff so I’m going to do this in sections.

New To Me-Finally finished Inuysaha a few weeks ago, took a while because I really, really stopped carrying half way through. But I finished it and it sucked. Its an anime based on Rumiko Takahashi’s manga about a modern girl trapped in the feudal period with a half Demon trying to gather shards of a sacred jewel. Watching Kimi Ni Todoke. Slice of life about a school girl people think is creepy because she resembles the girl from the Rings. Its about her making friends. Its cute but I’m only half paying attention.

Old Stuff-Rewatched Gargoyles, the seasons with the original creator. Good stuff, for the most part. Wish the series had some sort of ending. Been watching Lucifer over and over again because its background noise while I read or write. Started rewatching X-Men Evolution. Mostly in the background.

TV-So lots of stuff on and Lucifer is my favorite but its on hiatus. Of the Arrowverse stuff Legends of Tomorrow and Arrow have been strong, Flash has been weird, and Supergirl is starting to grate my nerves. Hate Mon-El, wish the Guardian stuff was going somewhere, and Supergirl herself has been unlikable at times. Alex and Maggie the shining light on that show. Agents of SHIELD has the same problems. Parts are good, parts are bad. Makes watching a struggle. Wish they would cut down on the Inhumans stuff, liking the LMD parts. Emerald City is visually cool, well acted, but not sure where I stand on the actual story. I got into Jane the Virgin but recent events almost make me want to quit. Voltron and Lemony Snickett on netflix delivered. Gotham… is okay… Riverdale is a trashy mess and I love it. Its just so over the top and the young actresses are just so damn good.

Movies-John Wick Chapter 2 is the movie to beat for the year, thus far. Lego Batman was fun. Great laughs but I didn’t love it nearly as much as others. Beware the Slenderman is fascinating.

Wrestling
Wrestling has been strong in 2017 thus far. So here goes…

NJPW-I did not do a write up but New Japan Pro-Wrestlings Wrestle Kingdom 11 was a monster. The show may be the first big show of the year but was the companies end of the year spectacle. The show was close to six hours if you did not skip through breaks and between matches. The majority of matches delivered, especially the top five. The triple threat tag title match over delivered because it looked lousy on paper. The NEVER title match between Katsuyori Shibata and Hirooki Goto was phenomenal and made my short list for 2017. Then the IWGP Juniors match between KUSHIDA and Hiromu Takahashi was crazy. KUSHIDA may be the divisions ace but Hiormu is the bad boy who is getting the spotlight and deservedly. The semi-main between longtime company ace Hiroshi Tanahashi challenging superstar Tetsuya Naito for his Intercontinental Champion. Great match but people liked it better than me. Finally the main event which has become a huge topic since, Kenny Omega challenged Kazuchika OKada for his WGP Heavyweight title in a match rated 6 out of 5 stars by longtime wrestling writer Dave Meltzer. Amazing match, set the bar waaaaaaaaaaaay too high for the year.

NJPW knocked out some shows with Mexico’s CMLL which were fun and then went on their New Beginnings tour with several stops and big shows in Sapporo and Osaka. Sapporo was okay and I dug Goto defending his title against Juice Robinson. Osaka was the better of the two shows which featured a fun NEVER 6 Man title match between hot Los Ingobernables challenging the mismatched team of Taguchi Japan team of Ryusuke Taguchi, Manabu Nakanishi and Tanahashi. Then current RevPro British Heavyweight champion Shibata defended the title against the insane Will Ospreay in an excellent encounter. Later LIJ member Hiromu Takahashi defended the Jr. title against his Mexican rival Dragon lee in a match that probably should have killed both men. The main event was incredible as Michael Elgin challenged Naito for his IC title. Second fave match of the year and Meltzer gave it 5 stars.

Now some special shows including joint shows with the US’s Ring of Honor and 45th Anniversary Shows before the next big tour.

WWE-The NXT special, Takeover, was alright. Dug Andrade Almas vs Roderick Strong and the main event for the title between Shinsuke Nakamura and Bobby Roode was good. Disappointed they took the tag titles of #DIY so early and thought the womens title match would have been better as a one on one instead of a four corners match. Royal Rumble was a very good PPV. John Cena and AJ Styles had another classic. The Rumble match itself was laid out weird but still delivered. I also dug Roman Reigns and Kevin Owens Universal title match. I missed part of the show though. The recent Elimination Chamber was good. Had three womens matches, a first for a WWE PPV. Each delivering in its own special way. The big match of importance was the actual Chamber match. It was the best one I’ve seen and I actually in the minority who like these gimmic matches. Steel cage, four pods, two guys start. Some cool spots and very hard to predict with Bray Wyatt winning and getting the title. This man has been badly booked for a few years so this was cool. Now one more PPV before Wrestlemania.

I got a PWG DVD which was good and I’m sitting on a Sendai Girls show I need to watch.

About CM Towns

I like comics, wrestling, and other junk.
This entry was posted in anime, cartoons, comic books, dc comics, green arrow, horror, image comics, independent comics, manga, movies, njpw, reviews, superhero, TV, wrestling, wwe and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

